Artist Spotlight
5. Feb

The Singers Unlimited

Oscar Peterson himself instigated the first contact between the Schwarzwald studio and The Singers Unlimited originating from Chicago. That contact developed into a fruitful decade-long relationship; the Villingen studio’s superb technology perfectly suited the sophisticated requirements of vocal artist and leader Gene Puerling and his companions Bonnie Herman, Don Shelton  and Elmer Dresslar Jr..

Gene Puerling and Don Shelton had formed worked together before as part of the vocal quartet The Hi-Lo’s, who achieved their greates fame in the late 50’s and 60s. Initially, The Singers Unlimited were created to record for commercials but one thing led to another and luckily they were persuaded to record albums. On the recommendation of  Peterson, they signed with MPS.

Recorded in July, 1971, In Tune was their first album on MPS. Masterful piano playing meets up with elaborate vocal harmony in this now legendary MPS summit. Oscar Peterson in his trio formation with bassist George Mraz and drummer Louis Hayes, act as the counterweights to the vocal architects from Chicago. What a debut album for the four singers!

TSU and Oscar Peterson

During their career, The Singers gifted us fifteen records. Fourteen of them were recorded for MPS between 1971 and 1982 and included further collaborations with Art Van Damme, the Pat Williams Orchestra and Rob McConnell. A classic for the festive season is their album Christmas.

  • In Tune with the Oscar Peterson Trio (1971)
  • A Capella (1972)
  • Christmas (1972)
  • Four of Us (1973)
  • Invitation with Art Van Damme (1974)
  • A Capella II (1975)
  • Feeling Free with the Pat Williams Orchestra (1975)
  • A Special Blend (1976)
  • Sentimental Journey (1976)
  • Eventide (1978)
  • Just in Time (1978)
  • A Capella III (1980)
  • The Singers Unlimited with Rob McConnell and the Boss Brass (1979)
  • Easy to Love (1981)


In Tune (with Oscar Peterson)

Remastered from the original master tapes. Listen or buy:


Remastered from the original master tapes. Listen or buy:

Skip to content